Access and set security permissions for personal and departmental network storage

Introduction

Personal and departmental network storage is provided to all UW employees and departments on WAREHOUSE. WAREHOUSE is managed by Information Technology and is backed up nightly. For information on the default level of personal storage and the cost of adding additional storage, see the IT Fees Page. 

Faculty and staff can store data and create whatever folder structure they wish in their personal and departmental storage. Access to personal shares is granted to only the individual and a few administrative accounts necessary for support of the storage space. Access to departmental shares can also include other UW employees, students, or groups.

To change permissions on a department share, someone with administrative access needs to make the request. If a user has full access, then they will be able to follow the steps below to update permissions.

The steps below only apply to accessing and setting permissions on departmental network storage, the name of the network storage will be in the format \\warehouse\deptstorage. If you are unsure of the name of your departmental network storage, contact the IT Help Desk at 766-4357, option 1, or email userhelp@uwyo.edu. Additionally, be aware that this is shared space and the rules regulating the use of the space is determined by the individual departments and not by IT, so please check with your department before making changes to this space.

 

Procedure

Accessing Personal Network Storage
 

  1. Click the Start menu button, and click Run. (Note: If using Windows 10, either Right-Click the Start button and choose Run or open the start menu and type Run then select it from the menu.)
  2. In the Run window, in the Open box, type \\warehouse\userstorage$ and click OK.  This will open the storage of the user currently logged into the computer.

NOTE: Using \\warehouse\userstorage$, with the actual word user, will map the path to your individual storage. There is no need to use your username.

NOTE: Individual storage is only available to the user who is logged in.

 

Accessing Department Network Storage

  1. Click the Start menu button, and click Run(Note: If using Windows 10, either Right-Click the Start button and choose Run or open the start menu and type Run then select it from the menu.)
  2. In the Run window, in the Open box, type \\warehouse\”departmentsharename” and click OK.  This will open the storage of the user currently logged into the computer.
     

Setting Security Permissions for Departmental Shares
(This will not work properly for personal shares, you can add users but since the name userstorage$ maps to the user that is logged into the machine other users will not be able to access your storage)

 

  1. Once your departmental share is open, right-click in the white right-hand pane, and click Properties.

 

  1. Select the Security tab, and click Add to add access for someone (or click Remove to remove access).

    WARNING: The Administrators account and the SYSTEM account are necessary to the continued functioning of your network storage. Do not remove these accounts. The IT Account Admins and IT Warehouse Storage Managers accounts represent IT support staff. Though these accounts are not necessary to the continued functioning of your storage space, removing these accounts will make it much more difficult to provide support to you for your network storage if ever necessary.

 

  1. In the Select Users, Computers, or Groups window, in the Enter the object names to select box, type in the usernames of those individuals you would like to allow access to your network storage, and click OK.

    NOTE: More than one username can be added by following each username with a semicolon and a space. 

If the username you are adding is similar to others on campus, the Multiple Names Found window will appear. Select the correct name from the list, and click OK.
 

  1. In the Username$ on warehouse Properties window, in the Group or user names box, select the username (or usernames) you have added, in the Permissions section, select the check boxes for the access level you wish them to have, and click OK when finished. 
Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 7543
Created
Fri 7/10/15 9:32 AM
Modified
Thu 4/6/17 11:23 AM