Share calendars using a Microsoft Exchange Server account

Procedure

Microsoft Exchange Server enables calendar sharing with others who have Exchange accounts. Your calendars can be viewed only by others to whom you have granted permissions. If the other person whose calendar you want to open has not granted you permission to view it, Outlook prompts you to ask the person for the permission that you need.

After you access a shared calendar for the first time, the calendar is added to the Shared Calendars list in the Navigation Pane, where you can access it the next time that you want to view it.

To share your calendar with another Exchange user:

  1. On the Home tab, in the Calendar section, right click on the calendar you would like to share and click Share Calendar.

     

  2. In the Sharing Invitation that appears, enter the person who you want to share with in the To box.

  3. Enter or select any other options that you want, just as if you were sending an email message.

The recipient sees an email notification that you have shared your calendar. You can also request that the recipient share his or her Exchange Calendar with you.

Note: If you want to share a calendar that you created that is not your default Calendar, in the Navigation Pane, right-click the calendar name, and then click Share calendar name.

Setting Person-Specific Permissions for Access to the Calendar

Once the calendar is shared, you can edit the permissions which each individual you share the calendar with has. This can be done by opening the Properties of the calendar which has been shared.

1. Open the calendar's Properties

2. Open the Permissions tab

Note: By default, anyone may see your free/busy time but not the details (only whether or not you are available during a given time period).

3. Click the Add button to search for someone to give access for your calendar or, if they already have access to your calendar (shared by email as above, for example), skip to Step 4.

 

4. Select the person whose level of access you wish to specify:

 

5. From the Permission Level drop-down menu, there are presets available. This guide details several of the presets below:

Owner: Has full access to your calendar and may do anything you can do with it.

 

Editor: Has ability to read, delete or create calendar entries.

 

Author: Can read all calendar entries, create new entries and edit only those which they have created. May not delete or edit entries you (or anyone else) may have created.

 

Nonediting Author: May create calendar entries, delete those they have created, but not edit any entries, including their own.

 

Reviewer: May see the full details of your calendar entries. Cannot make any changes.

 

Contributor: May add entries to the calendar, cannot view details of calendar entries or make changes to any existing entry.

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 7638
Created
Wed 7/15/15 11:43 AM
Modified
Thu 8/10/17 9:30 AM